Here we go…

First post.  I suppose I should say something profound here, or  talk about why on earth I am starting a blog.  The truth is this:  I am a 33-year-old mom who is in the midst of a little identity transformation.  A former elementary school teacher, I have been a stay at home mom of two sweet kiddos for the past 7 years. We moved to Cincinnati from Massachusetts last summer, and I have to say the transition has not been an easy one.   Next week will bring another change, as I will be starting classes at CCM (College-Conservatory of Music in Cincinnati) in music education and harp. I am currently swinging back and forth between feelings of excitement of finally fulfilling a dream of studying at such an amazing conservatory, and complete and utter fear.  Lately it’s mostly been fear. Paralyzing fear.  Don’t worry, I’m sure it will all work itself out in a post somewhere in the near future.

Transitions.  They are almost always difficult.   Careers change.  Relationships change.  Marriage evolves and parenting is a constant flow of guidance, vulnerability, insecurity, and faith.   This blog is mainly a place for me to process the twists and turns this road is taking — a rest stop along the way to get my bearings, study my map, and remind myself that True North never fails.  If you’d like to hike alongside me, you are welcome, friend.

About the blog name:  gracenotesbysarah.  I love grace notes.  For those of you who may not be familiar with this term, a grace note is a musical ornament —  a short note played just before a main note.  They are denoted (ha!) by a small eighth note with a little slash through the stem, like this:

File:Acciaccatura notation.png

Grace notes give a little flourish, a delicate touch to a piece of music.  They are like sprinkles on your ice cream.  Sort of….

And then of course, there’s the deeper meaning of grace notes…notes of grace, which is all I have to offer. Everything I have is a gift of grace that comes from the Father of Lights, who gives every good and perfect gift.  I make no pretense of wisdom or knowledge here.  The words on these pages are purely my own reflections on matters that I wrestle with, truths that I need to remind myself of, and questions for which I seek the truth.  I echo A.W. Tozer:  “… but if my fire is not large it is yet real, and there may be those who can light their candle at its flame.”

Welcome.  I’m glad you’re here.

Leave a Reply

